US Officials Tighten International Travel Guidelines

According to the CDC, beginning December 6, all air travelers, regardless of citizenship or vaccination status, will be required to present a negative pre-departure COVID-19 viral test taken the day before they travel to the United States, rather than the current policy of requiring a pre-travel test taken within three days prior to travel.

As scientists continue to examine the Omicron variant, the tighter testing timeline provides an additional layer of public health protection, according to the White House.

On November 29, the US government announced a temporary travel restriction on South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi. The action is in response to the appearance of the new COVID-19 Omicron variant and will be in effect until further notice. However, the bans do not apply to citizens or permanent residents of the United States.

Furthermore, children under the age of two do not need to be tested. Travelers can also show confirmation that they have recovered from COVID-19 within the past 90 days.

Authorities also added that Individuals must also wear facemasks in airports, commercial aircraft, trains, public maritime vessels, and intercity buses.

More information is available at the CDC website; click here.

Sharing is caring

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.