President Biden To Reinstate Travel Restrictions On Non-US Travelers, South Africa Added

According to two officials of the White House, President Joe Biden will formally reinstate COVID-19 travel restrictions on non-U.S travelers from Brazil, Ireland, the United Kingdom, and 26 other European countries that allow travel across open borders.

Officials who spoke on the condition of anonymity to discuss the order also confirmed that restrictions would be formally reinstated on Monday and that South Africa would be added to the restricted list due to concerns about a variant of the virus that has spread beyond that nation.

South Africa’s inclusion to the restricted travel list highlights the concern of the new administration regarding the virus mutations.

The South African variant has not been discovered in the United States, but a different variant that originate in the United Kingdom has been detected in several states.

In the United States, the South African variant has not been found, but in several states, a different variant originating in the United Kingdom has been detected.

Biden released an executive order last week directing federal agencies to quarantine international air travelers upon their arrival in the United States.

In addition, all U.S.-bound passengers 2 years of age and older must receive adverse COVID-19 test results within three days before the trip.

Sharing is caring

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.